Youth Day was Saturday October 24, 2015. That is a big day for young hunters from ages 10-16. It is the first day of hunting season only for that age group. An adult hunter has to be out hunting with them. It gives the young kids to get a chance to go out hunting and try to get a deer before opening season starts for everybody. 15 year old Hyatt Smith tried his luck hunting in a field in Charleston and didn’t end up very lucky. Here is what happened:

“I had never really been hunting before. I had been with my father and my brother Hunter before and brought a gun, but I just never really cared all that much. I don’t know what got into me this year, but I was just very motivated to get out there and get a deer. I think it had to do with Hunter telling me I couldn’t and him saying he was a better hunter than I was. It might have been true, but I’m competive. So one of our good friends Brandon Brock had told us a spot we could possibly hunt on. It wasn’t his property personally, but he knew the guy enough to ask permission. So the guy gave us permission to hunt there so that is where we decided on hunting. The property owner said the deer usually always come out at a certain time everyday so we made sure we put our blind out there early. Since I was the only one that was able to hunt I just used my brothers 30-30. I didn’t use the scope on it, I just used the iron sight even know Hunter kept telling me to put the scope on. I figured it would be fine with just the iron sight. We ended up getting to the field at about 2 o’clock. Setting up our blind didn’t take any time at all. We had been sitting for a couple hours and I was already bored out of my mind. I started to lose my ambition to prove my brother wrong. Just when we start to think about heading back to the truck my brother notices two deer come out of the woods from one direction. Then about 10 yards down from those ones, another 7 come walking out of the woods. I had my eye on one buck. I started to get super pumped and full of adrenaline. Hunter told me to shut up and calm down because the deer would hear us. The buck I watched was about 70 yards away and its side was facing us and walking towards the woods. I figured whistling while aiming at it might get its attention. I whistled and it turned towards me and I took the first shot. It jumped straight in to the air higher than the others did. I realized at the time yes I hit! Hunter told me I had missed it ran away just fine. So I still wanted to leave with a deer. So within the big hurd of deer running away, I just randomly aimed and took two more shots. I still missed! I realized then I would never hear the end of it from my brother. It turns out I didn’t hit anything. We all went out after and didn’t find any trails or drops of blood. I went home disappointed and blamed it on me using my brothers rifle and not having enough practice with it. I had never even shot that gun before.”

-Hyatt Smith

So in the end Hyatt didn’t go home with a deer. So why not? Was it a bad rifle or bad hunter?

This photo is of Hyatt Smith off of Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=1563346043885506&set=pb.100006303761707.-2207520000.1446129053.&type=3&theater
This photo is of Hyatt Smith off of Facebook.
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=1563346043885506&set=pb.100006303761707.-2207520000.1446129053.&type=3&theater
This picture was from a YouTube video.  http://i.ytimg.com/vi/EtwcwNc0Y5Q/maxresdefault.jpg
This picture was from a YouTube video.
http://i.ytimg.com/vi/EtwcwNc0Y5Q/maxresdefault.jpg